Technologie membranaire : le présent et l’avenir du traitement de l’eau

Posted by:
PUBLISHED ON:
IN CATEGORY:
Technologie des membranes : le présent et l'avenir du traitement de l'eau

Les membranes sont des supports de séparation semi-perméables (fines feuilles de matériau) qui permettent d’isoler une substance d’une autre, en laissant sélectivement passer uniquement celle que l’on souhaite. Le mécanisme nécessite de pousser le fluide à travers les pores de la membrane, afin que la séparation se produise.

Dans le traitement de l’eau, les membranes sont conçues pour séparer l’eau des contaminants en fonction de propriétés telles que la taille ou la charge des particules [1]. L’eau passe à travers, laissant derrière elle des particules plus grosses, des micro-organismes et d’autres contaminants.

Par rapport aux autres procédés, les membranes ont l’avantage d’être une méthode de séparation à faible consommation d’énergie, contrairement à l’évaporation ou à la distillation, dans lesquelles une quantité considérable de chaleur est ajoutée pour obtenir la séparation.

En général, les procédés membranaires réduisent le nombre d’opérations unitaires, et ils fonctionnent en continu et automatiquement[2] sans qu’il soit nécessaire de déplacer des pièces dans le système, sauf pour les pompes ou les compresseurs, qui sont nécessaires pour déplacer et pousser le fluide à travers les membranes.

Les membranes constituent une alternative attrayante aux procédés conventionnels de traitement des eaux usées, car elles ne nécessitent pas l’ajout de produits chimiques (uniquement pour le nettoyage des membranes), le procédé est simple avec des schémas de contrôle et une charge de maintenance simples [2], et son empreinte est généralement faible.

Néanmoins, comme tous les autres, les systèmes à membrane présentent également quelques inconvénients, l’encrassement étant le principal[2].

Fouling

L’encrassement, ou contamination de la membrane, se produit lorsque des solides en suspension ou dissous s’accumulent sur la surface externe de la membrane (générant un gâteau), ou sur/dans les pores (bouchant ou bloquant les pores) [3]. L’encrassement se traduit par une plus grande consommation d’énergie pour faire passer le fluide, une réduction du flux de perméat (substance purifiée) dans le temps [2], une fréquence de nettoyage plus élevée et une durée de vie plus courte de la membrane [3] (durée de vie moyenne de la membrane de trois à six ans). Les pores peuvent se boucher avec l’argile et les matières organiques si les flux riches en particules ne sont pas pré-filtrés [1].

L’encrassement est l’un des problèmes majeurs qui a conduit à la perception de membranes peu fiables et coûteuses [4], car l’encrassement diminue le flux de perméat [2]. Cependant, des cycles de nettoyage optimisés ont été établis à ce jour, qui sont dans de nombreux cas une combinaison de méthodes de nettoyage physiques et chimiques. De plus, les procédés membranaires produiront toujours deux flux en conséquence, le perméat et le rétentat, qui est le flux contenant les contaminants restants. Le rétentat, qui est en fait un flux d’alimentation concentré, nécessite généralement un traitement supplémentaire avant d’être éliminé[6]. Dans l’industrie, on observe des taux de récupération allant jusqu’à 85 %, ce qui laisse un flux très concentré à rejeter ou à utiliser pour une extraction supplémentaire des ressources (rejet liquide nul).

Les inconvénients mentionnés n’ont toutefois pas limité la diffusion de la technologie des membranes dans le monde entier. L’augmentation de la population, les préoccupations croissantes concernant les contaminants dans l’eau, le déclin des sources d’eau propre et facilement accessible, la pénurie d’eau actuelle et prévue[8], ainsi que les grandes quantités d’eau utilisées par l’industrie[9], sont des facteurs qui poussent la société et la technologie vers des techniques et des pratiques qui permettent de compter sur une eau propre avec une consommation énergétique mineure. Ce n’est pas en vain que les membranes s’imposent actuellement comme une industrie de plusieurs milliards de dollars[8] et constituent une option fiable en matière de réutilisation de l’eau.

La nécessité d’une transition vers un monde plus propre et plus efficace sur le plan énergétique, accompagnée d’un déploiement de la réutilisation des eaux usées industrielles et domestiques, pousse la technologie des membranes à une optimisation élaborée. Il en résulte une réduction des coûts globaux du cycle de vie, ce qui fera sans aucun doute des membranes la technologie clé du futur traitement de l’eau.

BOSAQ utilise la technologie des membranes pour ses systèmes. Dans les dispositifs de production d’eau potable hors réseau de BOSAQ, l’utilisation de produits chimiques pour le nettoyage des membranes est réduite au minimum absolu grâce à un déploiement intelligent de méthodes innovantes de prévention des salissures “vertes”.

References

[1]          N. Academies, ‘Safe Drinking Water Is Essential’, Reports from the National Academies, 01-Sep-2007. [Online]. Available: https://www.koshland-science-museum.org/water/html/en/Treatment/Membrane-Processes.html. [Accessed: 27-Oct-2018].

[2]          W. Guo, H.-H. Ngo, and J. Li, ‘A mini-review on membrane fouling’, Bioresour. Technol., vol. 122, pp. 27–34, Oct. 2012.

[3]          ‘Membrane fouling’. [Online]. Available: https://www.lenntech.com/membrane-fouling.htm. [Accessed: 28-Oct-2018].

[4]          ‘Exploring membrane technology’, edie.net. [Online]. Available: https://www.edie.net/library/Exploring-membrane-technology/2785. [Accessed: 26-Oct-2018].

[5]          ‘The Challenge of Membrane Maintenance’, Water & Wastes Digest. [Online]. Available: https://www.wwdmag.com/membranes-microfiltration/challenge-membrane-maintenance. [Accessed: 27-Oct-2018].

[6]          P. Zhou, G. M. Brown, and B. Gu, ‘Membrane and Other Treatment Technologies — Pros and Cons’, in Perchlorate: Environmental Occurrence, Interactions and Treatment, B. Gu and J. D. Coates, Eds. Boston, MA: Springer US, 2006, pp. 389–404.

[7]          ‘Membrane Filtration’, Water Quality Products. [Online]. Available: https://www.wqpmag.com/membrane-filtration. [Accessed: 27-Oct-2018].

[8]          J. Nemeth-Harn, ‘What is Membrane Water Treatment Technology and Why Do We Specialize In It?’ [Online]. Available: http://blog.harnrosystems.com/what-is-membrane-water-treatment-technology-and-why-do-we-specialize-in-it. [Accessed: 27-Oct-2018].

[9]          A. the A. P. Manison, ‘Sustainable membranes for wastewater applications’, Water Technology, 01-May-2013. [Online]. Available: https://www.watertechonline.com/sustainable-membranes-for-wastewater-applications/. [Accessed: 27-Oct-2018].

Partager sur facebook
Facebook
Partager sur twitter
Twitter
Partager sur linkedin
LinkedIn
Jacob Bossaer

Jacob Bossaer

Founder & CEO

Jacob est le fondateur et le PDG de BOSAQ. Après être revenu d'un des endroits les plus extrêmes de la planète, Jacob créa BOSAQ et Water Heroes dans le but d'apporter une solution durable au problème de l'eau dans le monde.

This website uses cookies

We use cookies and other tracking technologies to improve your browsing experience on our website, to show you personalized content and targeted ads, to analyze our website traffic, and to understand where our visitors are coming from. By browsing our website, you consent to our use of cookies and other tracking technologies.

Membranes technology: present and future of water treatment

Posted by:
PUBLISHED ON:
IN CATEGORY:
BOSAQ uses membrane technology for its systems. Within the BOSAQ off-grid drinking water production devices, use of chemicals for membrane cleaning is reduced to an absolute minimum by means of smart deployment of innovative ‘green’ fouling prevention methods.

Membranes are semi-permeable separation media (thin sheets of material) that allow to isolate one substance from another, by selectively letting only the desired one to pass through. The mechanism requires to push the fluid through the membrane pores, so the separation occurs.

In water treatment, membranes are engineered to separate water from contaminants based on properties like particle size or charge[1]. Water passes through, leaving larger particles, microorganisms and other contaminants behind.

When compared to other processes, membranes have the advantage of being a separation method with low energy consumption, contrarily to evaporation or distillation, in which a considerable amount of heat is added to achieve separation.

In general, membrane processes reduce the number of unit operations, and they operate continuously and automatically[2] without necessity of moving parts within the system, except for pumps or compressors, which are necessary to move and push the fluid through the membranes.

Membranes stand as an attractive alternative to conventional wastewater treatment processes, since they do not require the addition of chemicals (only for the cleaning of the membranes), the process is straightforward with simple control schemes and maintenance load [2], and typically has a low footprint.

Nonetheless, just like any other, membrane systems also have some disadvantages, fouling being the main one[2].

Fouling

Fouling, or membrane contamination, occurs when suspended or dissolved solids accumulate on the external membrane surface (generating a cake), or on/within the pores (pore plugging or blocking)[3]. Fouling results in higher energy use to push the fluid through, reduction on the permeate (purified substance) flux over time[2], higher cleaning frequency and shorter lifespan of the membrane[3] (a three to six year average membrane lifetime). Pores can get clogged with clay and organic materials if particle rich streams are not pre – filtered[1].

Fouling is one of the major problems that led to the perception of membranes being unreliable and expensive[4], as fouling decreases the permeate flux[2]. However, optimized cleaning cycles have been established to date which are in many cases a combination of physical and chemical cleaning methods. Moreover, membranes processes will always produce two streams as a result, the permeate and the retentate, which is the stream with the remaining contaminants. Retentate, usually requires further treatment prior to disposal as it is in fact a concentrated feed stream[6]. In industry, recovery ratios up to 85% are seen, leaving a very concentrated stream to discharge or use for further resource extraction (zero liquid discharge).

The mentioned disadvantages, however, have not limited the spreading of membrane technology worldwide. Increasing population, growing concerns about contaminants in water, decline in safe clean and easily accessible water sources, the current and forecasted water scarcity[8], along with the large amounts of water industry utilizes[9], are factors driving society and technology towards techniques and practices that allow to count on clean water with minor energy use. Not in vain, membranes currently allocate themselves as a multi-billion dollar industry[8] and stand as a reliable option when it comes to water reuse.

The necessity of transitioning towards a cleaner and more energy efficient world, accompanied by a deployment of industrial and domestic wastewater reuse, pushes membrane technology to elaborate optimization. This yields a reduction of overall lifecycle costs, which unquestionably will make membranes the key technology of future water treatment.

BOSAQ uses membrane technology for its systems. Within the BOSAQ off-grid drinking water production devices, use of chemicals for membrane cleaning is reduced to an absolute minimum by means of smart deployment of innovative ‘green’ fouling prevention methods.

References

[1]          N. Academies, ‘Safe Drinking Water Is Essential’, Reports from the National Academies, 01-Sep-2007. [Online]. Available: https://www.koshland-science-museum.org/water/html/en/Treatment/Membrane-Processes.html. [Accessed: 27-Oct-2018].

[2]          W. Guo, H.-H. Ngo, and J. Li, ‘A mini-review on membrane fouling’, Bioresour. Technol., vol. 122, pp. 27–34, Oct. 2012.

[3]          ‘Membrane fouling’. [Online]. Available: https://www.lenntech.com/membrane-fouling.htm. [Accessed: 28-Oct-2018].

[4]          ‘Exploring membrane technology’, edie.net. [Online]. Available: https://www.edie.net/library/Exploring-membrane-technology/2785. [Accessed: 26-Oct-2018].

[5]          ‘The Challenge of Membrane Maintenance’, Water & Wastes Digest. [Online]. Available: https://www.wwdmag.com/membranes-microfiltration/challenge-membrane-maintenance. [Accessed: 27-Oct-2018].

[6]          P. Zhou, G. M. Brown, and B. Gu, ‘Membrane and Other Treatment Technologies — Pros and Cons’, in Perchlorate: Environmental Occurrence, Interactions and Treatment, B. Gu and J. D. Coates, Eds. Boston, MA: Springer US, 2006, pp. 389–404.

[7]          ‘Membrane Filtration’, Water Quality Products. [Online]. Available: https://www.wqpmag.com/membrane-filtration. [Accessed: 27-Oct-2018].

[8]          J. Nemeth-Harn, ‘What is Membrane Water Treatment Technology and Why Do We Specialize In It?’ [Online]. Available: http://blog.harnrosystems.com/what-is-membrane-water-treatment-technology-and-why-do-we-specialize-in-it. [Accessed: 27-Oct-2018].

[9]          A. the A. P. Manison, ‘Sustainable membranes for wastewater applications’, Water Technology, 01-May-2013. [Online]. Available: https://www.watertechonline.com/sustainable-membranes-for-wastewater-applications/. [Accessed: 27-Oct-2018].

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn

Jacob Bossaer

Founder & CEO

Jacob is the founder and CEO of BOSAQ. He has founded BOSAQ and Water Heroes to provide a sustainable water solution to the world, right after coming back from one of the most extreme places on earth.

This website uses cookies

We use cookies and other tracking technologies to improve your browsing experience on our website, to show you personalized content and targeted ads, to analyze our website traffic, and to understand where our visitors are coming from. By browsing our website, you consent to our use of cookies and other tracking technologies.